Day Update

31 Years In prison, 154 lashes: Iran’s Jailed Rights Advocate Narges Mohammadi Wins Nobel Peace Prize

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided to award the Nobel Peace Prize for 2023 to Nargis Mohammadi for her fight against the oppression of women in Iran and the promotion of human rights and freedom for all.

This year’s Peace Prize also honors the millions of people who demonstrated last year against Iran’s religious regime’s policies of discrimination and oppression targeting women. 

The motto adopted by the protesters – “Women – Life – Freedom” – aptly expresses the dedication and work of Nargis Mohammadi.

Let us tell you that Nargis Mohammadi is the Vice President of Defender of Human Rights Center (DHRC). She fought to abolish the death penalty and for the rights of prisoners in the Islamic country Iran. During this period she also had to go to jail several times.

Nargis Mohammadi is a woman, human rights lawyer and a freedom fighter. She has had to pay a heavy personal price for his brave struggle for the right to freedom of expression and liberty. 

Iran’s Islamic regime arrested her a total of 13 times, convicted her five times and sentenced her to a total of 31 years in prison and 154 lashes. Let us tell you that Nargis Mohammadi is still in jail.

Since 1901, 104 Nobel Peace Prizes have been awarded. Of these, 70 Peace Prizes have been awarded to only one winner. 

So far in history, 19 women have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. A total of 27 different organizations have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.

Malala Yousafzai is the youngest Nobel Peace Prize winner in the history of the Nobel Prize.
She was honored with the Peace Prize in 2014. At that time Malala Yousafzai was only 17 years old. The oldest Nobel Peace Prize winner till date is Joseph Rotblat, who was awarded the prize in 1995, when he was 87 years old.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top