Day Update

8 MLAs Including Manik Sarkar Relieved. LF Announced Candidates For Tripura Polls

The 23rd Assembly elections in Tripura are a battle against ‘massive’ BJP.  So, the communist parties called for grand alliance. 

Accordingly an eye-opening surprise has been seen in the announcement of the candidate list of the Left Front on Wednesday. 

Eight sitting MLAs, including former chief minister and leader of the opposition and long-time CPIM politburo member Manik Sarkar, not to contest the Assembly Elections this time.

Not only that, the Left Front has virtually announced an alliance leaving 13 seats for the Congress and one for the Independent candidates.

On Wednesday Chairman of the Left Front Narayan Kar announced the list of candidates in a press conference and claimed that this decision was taken due to the need of the hour. 

Meanwhile, CPIM mentioned 23 new faces in its candidate list.

Moreover, the CPI candidate is also a new face, said Narayan Kar.

On this day, Narayan Kar said, CPIM’s current opposition leader Manik Sarkar, Badal Chowdhury, Bhanulal Saha, Narayan Chandra Chowdhury, Tapan Chakraborty, Jasbir Tripura, Sahid Chowdhury and Mobaswar Ali have been exempted from the upcoming assembly elections.

According to the candidates list, CPIM 43, Congress 13 , and CPI, Forward Bloc, RSP left front supported Independent Candidate will contest one seat each. 

Forward Bloc did not announce candidates today. 

According to the political analysts Left Front today announced the list of candidates sharing seats with the Congress after confirmation that TIPRA Motha to make alliance with BJP in the upcoming Assembly Polls.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top