Bihar Election: BJP Emerges As Single-Largest Party In NDA

Of the NDA allies in Bihar, the BJP contested on 110 seats, senior ally Janata Dal (United) (115), Bollywood set designer Mukesh Sahani’s Vikassheel Insaan Party (11) and Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) (7). Initial trends of the Bihar election result suggest the NDA has established an early lead in 53 of these seats PM Modi addressed 12 meetings in the three-phase Bihar elections, which covered 99 of the 243-member legislative assembly in the state and the party emerged as the single-largest party in the multi-cornered contest. In the 2015 assembly polls, the BJP had won 53 seats and had a vote share of 24.42%. The JD (U), which had broken ranks with the NDA five years ago and joined hands with arch-rival Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), had won 71 seats. The BJP had announced that Nitish Kumar would be the NDA’s chief ministerial candidate, irrespective of seats won by any party in the NDA.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top