BJP Registers Best Strike Rate In Bihar Election. Left CPI (ML) At 2nd Spot

The BJP was the top performer in terms of strike rate in the Bihar assembly elections, results for which were declared on early Wednesday morning, while Left CPI (ML)(L) was at the second spot having won over 63 per cent of the seats it contested. Political strike rate is referred to as the proportion or percentage of the number of seats won by a party against the number of seats contested by it. The saffron party won 74 of the 110 seats it contested becoming the second-largest party in Bihar. Its ally JD(U), which contested on 121 seats, had a strike rate of 35.54%. All the three left parties combined had a strike rate of over 55%. They won 16 of the 29 seats. The Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation), which won 12 of the 19 seats it contested, had the second-best strike rate of 63.16%. CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury said that left parties can perform even better if they are allotted more seats during the alliance seat-sharing. “We were clear from the beginning that we have to defeat the BJP. Our strike rate in Bihar is 80 per cent and if we had been given more seats, we would have contributed more to the Gathbandhan tally,” Yechury told PTI. Jitan Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) was the third-best performer with a strike rate of over 57%. HAM(s)’s president Manjhi won the Imamganj seat by over 16,000 votes. The party also won the Tikari, Sikandra and Barachatti seats. In the Grand Alliance, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) had the fourth-best strike rate in the state, 52.08%. The Tejashwi Yadav-led party became the single-largest party having won 75 of the 144 seats it contested. The Indian National Congress lost 54 seats and registered a strike rate of 26.03%. The grand old party had contested in 70 seats this time with its ally RJD contesting in the majority seats. In 2015, the Congress had contested in 41 seats.That, however, LJP and BSP were still not the worst performers in terms of strike rate. The independent candidates registered the lowest strike rate in this election. A total of 1,300 independents contested the Bihar assembly elections. Only one won the election, resulting in a strike rate of 0.08%.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top