By-Poll Results In 7 Seats Of 6 States: BJP Wins 3. Opposition Gets 4

After counting of votes, the results were declared on Friday for the by-elections held on September 5 in seven assembly seats in six states of the country. 

According to the last result BJP Wins 3 seats. Opposition wins 4 seats including

BJP has captured both the seats in Tripura. At the same time, Bageshwar seat of Uttarakhand has once again come into the hands of BJP. BJP candidate Parvati Das has won this seat by 2400 votes. 

Congress has once again captured the Puthuppalli seat of Kerala. Nirmal Chand Rai of Trinamool Congress has defeated Taapsi Rai of BJP in Dhupguri seat of West Bengal. 

In Dumri assembly constituency of Jharkhand, Baby Devi of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha has defeated Yashoda Devi of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU). 

Samajwadi Party candidate Sudhakar Singh has defeated BJP’s Dara Singh Chauhan in Ghosi assembly seat of Uttar Pradesh.

UDF wins Kerala’s Puthupalli seat

Opposition alliance United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate Chandy Oommen has won the by-election in Puthupalli constituency in Kerala. Chandy Oommen is the son of late Congress leader Oommen Chandy and in the early trends he was way ahead of his rivals. He has won by 37719 votes.

BJP captures Dhanpur-Boxanagar seats in Tripura

According to the Election Commission, BJP has won Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly seats of Sepahijala district of Tripura. BJP has captured the Boxanagar seat which has about 66 percent minority voters. Bindu Debnath has won in Dhanpur, whereas in Boxanagar BJP’s Tafazzal Hussain has won by 30,237 votes. 

Trinamool Congress wins in Dhupguri

Trinamool Congress’s Nirmal Chand Rai has defeated BJP’s Taapsee Rai by 4309 votes in West Bengal’s Dhupguri seat. Nirmalchand Rai got 97,613 votes and Taapsee Rai got 93,304 votes.

JMM’s Baby Devi wins Dumri seat

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Baby Devi defeated her nearest rival Yashoda Devi of All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) by a margin of 17,153 votes in the by-election for Dumri assembly seat in Giridih district of Jharkhand. JMM candidate has got 100317 votes while AJSU candidate has got 83,164 votes. 

India’s litmus test

These elections are being seen as a big test for the opposition group INDIA before the Lok Sabha elections to be held next year and the assembly elections to be held at the end of the year. 

Let us tell you that the seven seats where elections were held include Bageshwar of Uttarakhand, Ghosi of Uttar Pradesh, Puthuppalli of Kerala, Dhupguri of West Bengal, Dumri of Jharkhand and Boxanagar and Dhanpur of Tripura. 

Ghosi seat came in SP’s favor

Of the seven seats, Dhanpur, Bageshwar and Dhupguri were earlier held by BJP. The seats of UP and Jharkhand were with Samajwadi Party and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. The Boxnagar seat in Tripura and the Puthupalli seat in Kerala were held by the CPIM and the Congress. 

The Ghosi seat in Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after sitting MLA and OBC leader Dara Singh Chauhan quit the SP and joined the BJP. 

Dara Singh has now been defeated on this seat as a BJP candidate. Sudhakar Singh of Samajwadi Party defeated Dara Singh by 42,759 votes. He got 1,24,447 votes while Dara Singh got 81,668 votes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top