Tripura Post Live

Candidates List For Tripura Assembly Polls: PM Modi Attends CEC Meet Of BJP

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting began at the party headquarters here on Friday to finalize the names of party candidates for the upcoming Tripura Assembly elections.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is also present in this meeting. 

Apart from him, BJP President JP Nadda, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh and other members of the CEC of BJP are also present in the meeting. 

The core committee members of BJP Tripura unit also attended the meeting.

Earlier on Thursday, leaders including Nadda, Shah, Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha, BJP state in-charge Mahesh Sharma and Rajya Sabha member Biplab Deb held a late-night meeting to discuss the names of the candidates.

The names of the candidates for the Tripura Assembly elections are likely to be announced after the meeting at the party headquarters.

Notable Polling for the 60-member Tripura assembly is to be held on February 16. 

The last date for filing nominations is January 30. The counting of votes will take place on March 2. 

The BJP formed its government for the first time in Tripura in 2018, ending 20 years of rule by the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top