Centre Extends AFSPA In Parts Of Nagaland, Arunachal 

The Central Government has brought the areas of 21 police stations in 8 districts of Nagaland and 21 police stations in 5 other districts under the Armed Forces Special Powers Act, 1958. 

The Center has declared all these areas as disturbed areas for 6 months from April 1 to September 30. 

The 8 districts where AFSPA has been imposed include Dimapur, Newland, Chumukedima, Mon, Kiphere, Noklak, Phek and Feren districts.

The Central Government has extended the status of “disturbed area” under the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 in parts of Arunachal and Nagaland by 6 months.

The decision has been taken after reviewing the law and order situation in both the states, the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) said in two separate notifications on Friday. 

Earlier, the Central Government, in exercise of the powers conferred by Section 3 of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 (28 of 1958), had declared nine districts and 16 police stations in four other districts of Nagaland as ‘disturbed areas’. The extension was for a period of six months from October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2022.

AFSPA empowers security forces to arrest a person without warrant, search and certain other actions.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top