Day Update

Centre Renamed Nehru Memorial Museum And Library

The Central Government renamed the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library (NMML) located at Teen Murti Bhavan in Delhi. 

Its new name has been changed to Prime Minister’s Museum and Library Society (PMMS). 

The central government had announced the name change on June 16. It has now been implemented from Tuesday i.e. 15th August. 

The decision was taken in June after a meeting with Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, vice-president of the society.

After this decision of the Center, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge had said – Those who do not have their own history, they are hell-bent on erasing the history of others. The attempt to change the name of the memorial cannot belittle the personality of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru, the architect of modern India and fearless guardian of democracy. This only shows the cheap mentality and dictatorial attitude of BJP-RSS.

Earlier in 2016, PM Modi had mooted the idea of ​​setting up a museum dedicated to all the Prime Ministers of India in the complex. Despite opposition from the Congress, the Prime Minister’s Museum was built in the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library complex. It was inaugurated by Prime Minister Modi on 21 April 2022. Even then the Congress had opposed it.

Ministry of Culture said a in press release on June 16, Teen Murti Bhawan, where NMML is located. It also houses the Prime Minister’s Museum showcasing the contributions of all the Prime Ministers of India including Nehru.

 Earlier the name of this museum was Nehru Memorial Museum and Library, now it has been changed to Prime Minister’s Museum and Library Society.

Built in 1929-30 as part of Edwin Lutyens’ Imperial Capital, the building was the official residence of Pandit Nehru. The Teen Murti House was the official residence of the Commander-in-Chief of India. 

In August 1948 it became the official residence of Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Prime Minister of independent India. Nehru died on 27 May 1964. Pandit Nehru lived here for 16 years.

After Nehru’s death, the then government decided that Teen Murti House should be dedicated to Jawaharlal Nehru. The then government proposed to build a museum and a library in it.

On 14 November 1964, on Nehru’s 75th birth anniversary, the then President S. Radhakrishnan dedicated the Teen Murti Bhawan to the nation and inaugurated the Nehru Memorial Museum. Two years later, the NMML Society was established to manage the institution and has remained so ever since.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the President of the Nehru Memorial Museum and Library Society. Its 29 members include Union ministers Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Dharmendra Pradhan, G Kishan Reddy, Anurag Thakur.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top