Tripura Post Live

Former Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb Elected As Rajya Sabha Member

As expected former Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb has been elected as the Rajya Sabha Member.

Bypoll was held for the lone Rajya Sabha seat of Tripura on Thursday.

The results were declared soon after the voting process was over.

Deb assured the people of Tripura that he would continue to work for them.

After winning the Rajya Sabha by-election, Biplab Deb said, “With the blessings of Mata Tripurasundari, I will continue to serve the beloved people of Tripura till my last breath.”

The former Tripura Chief Minister expressed his “gratitude to the BJP and IPFT MLAs of Tripura” for electing him as a Rajya Sabha MP.

He thanked PM Narendra Modi, BJP National President JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah for giving him the opportunity to represent Tripura in the Rajya Sabha.

With this, Deb has become BJP’s second Rajya Sabha member from Tripura.

He replaced Dr Manik Saha, who had resigned from the post after being elected as the chief of the BJP’s legislature party in the Tripura Legislative Assembly.

The by-election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Tripura was necessitated after Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha vacated the seat earlier this year.

Notably, Dr. Manik Saha was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Tripura in April this year.

However, soon after taking oath as a Rajya Sabha MP, Saha was appointed as the Chief Minister of Tripura by the BJP.

On May 15, Manik Saha took over as the Chief Minister of Tripura from Biplab Deb.

Later in June, Saha was elected to the Tripura Legislative Assembly as an MLA from the constituency of Town Bordowali.

Bipĺab Deb wins as he gets 43 votes in 60 members Tripura Assembly. On the other hand opposition left front candidate Bhanulal Saha gets 15 votes.

The lone Congress MLA Sudip Roy Barman didn’t casts his vote.

Meanwhile another IPFT MLA Brishaketu Debbarma was dismissed from his post by the speaker recently for his anti party activities.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top