Day Update

Gazette Notification For By-Polls Has Been Issued: CEO Tripura

On August 8, the National Election Commission has announced the by-elections for the seven assembly constituencies of the country. This includes two seats in Tripura. According to the announcement of the National Election Commission, by-elections will be held for 20 Boxnagar and 23 Dhanpur assembly constituencies in the state. 

Tripura State Chief Electoral Officer Punit Aggarwal held a press conference in Civil Secretariat on Thursday ahead of this by-election.

In the press conference, he said that according to the announcement of the National Election Commission, the gazette notification for the by-elections has been issued on Thursday. The process of submission of nomination papers has started from this day. Nomination papers can be submitted till August 17. Nomination papers will be scrutinized on August 18. The last day for withdrawal of nomination papers is 21 August. Voting will be held on September 5. Counting of votes and results will be announced on September 8. The by-election process will be completed on September 10. 

20 Boxnagar Assembly Constituency Returning Officer is Sipahijala District Senior Deputy Collector. On the other hand, the Returning Officer of 23 Dhanpur Assembly Constituency is the Additional District Magistrate of Sepahijla District.

Total voter in 20 Buxnagar assembly constituency is 43 thousand 87 . 22 thousand 166 of them are male voters. 20 thousand 921 female voters. 75 service voters. 510 voters above 80 years of age and 198 Divyangan voters. 

On the other hand, total voters in 23 Dhanpur assembly constituency is 50 thousand 147 people. Among them 25 thousand 944 male voters, 24 thousand 203 female voters. 85 service voters. 707 voters above 80 years of age, and Divyangan voters are 265 . 

However, the work of correcting the voter list will continue till the last day of submission of nomination papers. Therefore, the total number of voters may change, said Chief Electoral Officer of the state Punit Agarwal. 

Like the Assembly elections, this by-election also has special arrangements for voters above 80 years of age and Divyangan voters. They can vote at home if they want. But for that they have to inform about their choice within next 5 days. 

The Chief Electoral Officer of the state also said that there are 51 polling stations in 43 places of 20 Boxnagar assembly constituencies. Among them there are 3 polling stations in urban areas and 48 polling stations in rural areas. 

On the other hand, there are 59 polling stations at 50 locations in 23 Dhanpur assembly constituency . All polling stations are located in rural areas. 

General administration and Police administration have been activated ahead of the by-elections. 

Already a high level meeting has been held with the officials. Since 20 Boxnagar and 23 Dhanpur assembly constituencies are located in Sepahizla districts, the electoral code of conduct is imposed in the entire Sepahizla district, said the chief election officer of the state. 

All measures have already been taken to conduct the by-elections peacefully. The Chief Electoral Officer of the state sought everyone’s cooperation for the peaceful completion of the election. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top