ICC WTC Points Table: India Move To Top Spot After Historic Win, Australia Drop To Third

Rishabh Pant starred with the bat, scoring an unbeaten 89 as India beat Australia by three wickets in the fourth Test at the Gabba to register their second consecutive Test series win Down Under. Apart from Pant, Shubman Gill (91) and Cheteshwar Pujara (56) impressed with the bat too. The series has ended 2-1 in favour of the tourists. The win was also India’s first at the venue and first defeat for Australia at the Gabba since 1988. Chasing a mammoth total of 328, Team India crossed the finishing line in the 116th over. Pant and Washington Sundar shared a decisive stand of 53 runs to all but seal the game for India before the latter departed. Sundar was dismissed by Lyon when India needed just ten runs before Pant and Navdeep Saini took the team over the line. Earlier in the day, the visitors were off to a poor start as Rohit Sharma could add just three more runs to his overnight score of 4 before departing. But from thereon, almost everything went India’s way. Gill and Pujara put the visitors in a solid position by adding 114 runs for the second wicket. Nathan Lyon broke the stand when he dismissed Gill for 91. Skipper Ajinkya Rahane failed to score big before Pujara and Pant added 61 runs for the fourth wicket. When Cummins broke the stand in the third session by dismissing Pujara and then sending back Mayank Agarwal cheaply, it looked like India would go for a draw. However, Pant and Sundar had other plans. The duo mixed caution with aggression to take India closer to the win before Sundar and Shardul Thakur departed in quick succession. But Pant stayed till the end and fitting hit the winning runs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top