National Affairs

India, China Agree To Resolve LAC Row: MEA

A Corps Commander level meeting was held between India and China amid the ongoing tension on the Line of Actual Control (LAC). 

The 19th round of this important meeting was held on August 13-14 at Chushul-Moldo on the Indian border. 

The two sides held positive and in-depth discussions on the resolution of outstanding issues along the LAC in the Western Sector. Ideas were exchanged between the two countries in a forward-looking manner. 

According to the Ministry of External Affairs, during the meeting, China agreed to resolve the remaining issues at the earliest. 

The neighboring countries also agreed to continue dialogue through military and diplomatic channels. Both sides have also agreed to maintain peace and tranquility in the border areas.

Earlier it was also told quoting sources that the two sides discussed issues related to the withdrawal of troops along the Line of Actual Control in eastern Ladakh. In the meeting, India pressed China for the earliest withdrawal of troops from other friction points including Depsang and Demchok.

 Along with this, discussions were also held on reducing the overall tension in the region. The military talks took place a week before the BRICS summit in South Africa. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chinese President Xi Jinping will participate in the conference.

The Indian side was led by Lieutenant General Rashim Bali, Commander of the Leh-based 14-Corps. At the same time, the Chinese side was led by the South Xinjiang Military District Chief. 

Earlier, the 18th round of talks took place on 23 April. In this too, India had insisted on withdrawing the army from Depsang and Demchok.

According to a Pentagon report, China has built a division-level headquarters near Pangong Lake. This headquarters is located south of Gogra Hot Springs. China has also built barracks in its territory in the Galvan Valley. There is a 3488 kilometer long border between India and China.

 This range is divided into three sectors. Which includes Eastern Sector, Western Sector and Central Sector. The five Indian states of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh share borders with China. 

In the western sector, the border areas of Jammu and Kashmir, Xinjiang and Aksai Chin are disputed. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top