India Clinch Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 4th Time

The Indian team has won the Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2023 title. In the final match, India defeated Malaysia 4-3 after trailing by two goals at one stage.

 By the second half, Malaysia’s team was leading 3-1. 

India has won the Asian Hockey Championship title for the fourth time. India has also become the country to win this tournament for the most number of times. Pakistan has 3 titles to its name. This was Malaysia’s first final match

India has performed well throughout the tournament. It maintained it in the semi-finals as well. Both the teams could not score in the first quarter. 

After this Arshdeep Singh got the account opened. He scored in the 19th minute. And Harmanpreet Singh scored a goal in the 23rd minute. Mandeep Singh, Sumit and Karthi Selvam also scored one goal each. 

Earlier, Japan defeated India 5-3 in the semi-final match in Dhaka two years back. But this time Team India completed the revenge by turning the dice. 

Team India was playing very aggressively in this semi-final. At the same time, the Japanese team was trying to defend. 

Significantly, India defeated China badly in the match held on 3 August. India had won 7-2 in this match. After this, the match with Japan on August 4 ended in a 1-1 draw. 

Team India won a great victory over Malaysia on 6th August. He defeated Malaysia 5-0. After this Korea was defeated 3-2. Team India had washed Pakistan 4-0. After this the team reached the semi-finals in India.

The semi-final match was very special for Indian goalkeeper P Sreejesh. This was the 300th match of his career. He was also honored before the match

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top