National Affairs

Karnataka Assembly Election On Wednesday

Voting for the Karnataka Assembly elections will be held on Wednesday (10 May 2023). 

Polling will Start from 7 am to end at 6 pm. 5,31,33,054 voters of the state will vote for the 224 members of the Legislative Assembly. 

Of this, 2,67,28,053 are males, and 2,64,00,074 are females and 4,927 are ‘others’. 

There are a total of 11.71 lakh people who have become voters for the first time. For voting, 58,545 polling stations have been set up in the entire state. The results will be declared on May 13.

A total of 2,615 candidates of various parties including Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress, Janata Dal (Secular) are trying their luck in the election field. 

Of these, 2,430 are men, 184 women and one of the other gender. 

The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded its candidates on all 224 seats, while the Congress has fielded candidates on 223 and the Janata Dal (Secular) and the Aam Aadmi Party on 209-209 seats. There are a total of 11,71,558 youth voters in the state, while 5,71,281 differently-abled and 12,15,920 voters are above 80 years of age.

All the preparations have been completed by the Election Commission regarding the voting in the entire state. 

Tight security arrangements were made to conduct free, fair polling and prevent any disturbance. 

Apart from the state police, several companies of paramilitary forces have been deployed. Apart from this, police force has also been called from neighboring states.

Around three lakh polling personnel have been deployed to conduct the elections. 

A total of 75,603 Ballot Units (BU), 70,300 Control Units (CU) and 76,202 Voter Verifiable Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) will be used during the polling. 

Polling personnel have reached all the polling stations till late evening.

A day before the assembly elections in Karnataka, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Rajeev Kumar on Tuesday appealed to voters, especially first-time voters, to turn out in large numbers to exercise their franchise.

 Chief Election Commissioner Rajeev Kumar urged young and urban voters to take inspiration from veteran voters like 103-year-old Mahadev Mahalinga Mali. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Election Commissioner Rajeev Kumar have lauded Mali, a resident of Belagavi district, for casting his vote in the Karnataka Assembly elections last week using the ‘home voting’ facility.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top