Karnataka CM Post: Siddaramaiah, DK Shivakumar In The Race

After winning the battle of Karnataka assembly elections 2023 and getting a huge majority, churning is now going on in the Congress regarding the Chief Minister post.

 In the race for CM, Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar are considered to have a close fight. 

The Congress high command has called Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar to Delhi on a special flight. 

The high command has called some MLAs belonging to both these groups to Delhi. Meanwhile, three central observers appointed by the Congress have returned to Delhi with their reports. Observers took their opinion from all the MLAs.

Monday i.e May 15 was the 61st birthday of DK Shivakumar, who is called the troubleshooter of politics in Karnataka. 

Everyone is asking the question, will Congress give a birthday gift to Shivkumar? Shivakumar comes from the Vokkaliga community. In the politics of Karnataka, after Lingayats, Vokkaligas are said to be the second kingmaker community.

DK Shivakumar is scheduled to leave for Delhi from Bangalore.¬†Speaking to the media, he said, “I will finish my personal program and leave for Delhi after visiting my presiding deity. Yesterday 135 MLAs have given their opinion. They have passed a one-line resolution. Some MLAs also expressed personal opinion. The final decision will be of the high command.”

DK Shivakumar said, “135 MLAs is my strength. Congress has won 135 seats under my leadership. The high command called me and Mallikarjun Kharge. I just want to communicate with all media friends, because you have wished me. I will leave for Delhi by the next flight.”

Three central observers appointed by the Congress have returned to Delhi with their reports. 

Kharge had appointed former Maharashtra CM Sushil Kumar Shinde, Congress General Secretary Jitendra Singh and former General Secretary Deepak Babaria as observers. AICC General Secretary and Karnataka in-charge Randeep Singh Surjewala was also with him.

According to the Congress sources, the party leadership is thinking that the name of the Chief Minister should be announced by Monday or Tuesday and administered the oath on Thursday. 

Along with one Chief Minister and only one Deputy Chief Minister, 24-25 ministers can also be sworn in simultaneously. 

On reaching Delhi, Congress in-charge of Karnataka Randeep Singh Surjewala said that two resolutions were passed in the meeting yesterday. There was a motion of thanks and another motion authorizing Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge to choose the next leader of the next Congress Legislature Party. The supervisors discussed with everyone and will give their report to Mallikarjun Kharge by tonight. 

The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting held at a private hotel in Bengaluru on Sunday evening unanimously passed a resolution empowering the party president to choose the leader of the legislature party who will become the next chief minister of Karnataka. 

 In the elections held on May 10 for the 224-member assembly in the state, the Congress won 135 seats in a landslide victory. 

Congress has won 80 new seats in 2023 as compared to 2018. While the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and former prime minister HD Deve Gowda-led Janata Dal (Secular) won 66 and 19 seats respectively.

In the results of 2023, JDS has suffered the most in this area. JDS’s 6 seats decreased from Bengaluru, while BJP’s 6 seats increased.

In Central Karnataka, BJP won the maximum number of seats in 2018, but in the 2023 elections, BJP lost the maximum number of 17 seats from here. The Congress won more than double the number of seats compared to 2018.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top