Karnataka Elections: BJP, Congress Holds Meet For Candidates List

BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting has started on Sunday evening to decide the candidate for the Karnataka elections. 

All senior leaders including PM Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, JP Nadda, Rajnath Singh and BJP General Secretary BL Santosh were present in the meeting.

According to the report BJP’s candidate list can be released after this meeting.

On the other hand, the Congress meeting was also held on Sunday at the house of Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge to decide the candidate for the Karnataka assembly elections. 

Many senior Congress leaders including Rahul Gandhi, KC Venugopal, Surjewala were present in the meeting at Kharge’s house in Delhi.

Let us tell you that the Congress has not yet announced the candidates for the Karnataka assembly elections.

Congress took a big decision on Sunday, 31 days before the Karnataka elections. The party has made BN Chandrappa the working president. DK Shivakumar is currently the President of the party in Karnataka.

The term of the present BJP government in the state is ending on May 24. This time the contest is between BJP, Congress and JDS. Last time JDS-Congress were together, but this time JDS is contesting separately.

Assembly elections in Karnataka will be held on May 10. The results will be announced on 13 May. Voting will be done in one phase. Karnataka has 5.21 crore voters, who will vote in 224 assembly seats. Those who will be 18 years old on April 1 will also be able to vote.

4 big points of Karnataka election…

16,976 people are above 100 years. Voting facility from home for above 80 years and Divyang.

9.17 lakh voters will vote for the first time.

Youths who turn 18 on April 1 will also be able to vote. Their number is 41 thousand.

There are 58,282 polling stations. Of these, 1320 women will manage.

Karnataka has 224 assembly seats. In the 2018 assembly elections, BJP had won 104 seats, Congress 78 and JDS 37. No party got majority. 

Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the chief minister on 17 May, but resigned on 23 May after failing to prove his majority in the House. After this Congress-JDS coalition government was formed.

After 14 months, the politics of Karnataka again took a turn. Kumaraswamy had to leave the chair after the rebellion of some Congress and JDS MLAs. 

Yeddyurappa merged these rebels with BJP and BS Yeddyurappa became the CM on 26 July 2019 with the support of 219 MLAs, but he resigned after 2 years. Basavaraj Bommai was made the Chief Minister here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top