Late Mulayam Singh Yadav, Dilip Mahalnabis Conferred Padma Awards

President Draupadi Murmu confers the Padma Awards on Wednesday (April 5, 2023). 

These were confers at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, where veteran socialist leader Mulayam Singh Yadav and renowned physician Dilip Mahalnabis were posthumously awarded the Padma Vibhushan. 

Yadav’s son and former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Akhilesh Yadav received the award, while Mahalanabis’ award was received by his nephew. 

Apart from them, writer Sudha Murthy, physicist Deepak Dhar, novelist S.L. Bhairappa and Vedic scholar Tridandi Chinna J. Swamiji has been awarded the Padma Bhushan.

Anand Kumar, a teacher originally from Bihar who runs the “Super 30” educational program, India’s first Oscar winning music director M.M. Keeravani, Bollywood actress Raveena Tandon, Kumi Nariman Wadia, the first woman conductor of choral music in the country, Thanaujam Chaoba Singh, former deputy CM of Manipur, Buddhist religious leader Kushak Thyske Nawang Chamba Stanzin and Bidri art famous for bringing a lot of new patterns and designs Shah Rashid Ahmed Qadri were also awarded the Padma Shri by President Draupadi Murmu during this program .

Vice President Jagdeep Dhankhar, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President J.P. Nadda and several Union Ministers along with other guests were present in that program.

 The President had approved the conferment of 106 Padma Awards on the eve of this year’s Republic Day. 

A total of 53 awardees were honored on Wednesday, including three Padma Vibhushan, five Padma Bhushan and 45 Padma Shri. 

Other eminent personalities were given Padma Awards on 22 March.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top