Day Update

Manik Sarkar May Contest Dhanpur By-Election: Report

Senior CPIM Politburo member and former chief minister Manik Sarkar may return to electoral politics and contest the bypolls from his home constituency Dhanpur under Sepahijala district.

The constituency become vacant after Union Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Pratima Bhowmik won the recent assembly elections by defeating Kaushik Chanda of the CPIM.

The veteran CPIM leader opted out of the electoral contest citing his desire to work on the organizational side rather than electoral politics.

“That was a six-month-old decision. Many factors are taken into consideration before taking any concrete decision in politics. If the party wants him to contest the elections and see that the face of the government gives rise to the party’s chances of victory, he will respect the party’s decision”, a senior CPIM leader told EastMojo, requesting anonymity.

For the last few days, Sarkar was traveling to different parts of Sepahijala district for organizational work of the party.

He visited the violence affected areas under Sonamura subdivision. During his visit, Sarkar interacted with local MLAs who were victims of post-poll violence.

It is important to mention here that even though the BJP formed its first government in 2018 by defeating the Left, Manik Sarkar emerged victorious from Dhanpur and defeated Pratima Bhowmick.

But ahead of the 2023 elections, he urged the party leadership to be free from electoral politics.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top