National Affairs

New Parliament Should Be Inaugurated By President: Petition Filed In Supreme Court

Posted on

The controversy over the inauguration of the new building of Parliament is not stopping. Out of total 40 parties, 20 opposition parties including Congress have announced its boycott. 

On the other hand, 17 parties including BJP have accepted the invitation of the government.

Meanwhile, a petition has been filed in the Supreme Court directing the President to inaugurate the new Parliament. 

The petitioner states that the Lok Sabha Secretariat has violated the Constitution by not inviting the President for the inauguration.

The opposition says that the decision to get it inaugurated by the Prime Minister bypassing President Draupadi Murmu is not only a serious insult, but it is also a direct attack on democracy. 

In a joint statement of the opposition parties on Wednesday, it was said that the soul of democracy has been removed from the Parliament in this government. In such a situation, there is no point in building a new building.

17 parties including BJP will participate: BJP, Shiv Sena (Shinde faction), Shiromani Akali Dal, NPP, NDPP, SKM, JJP, RLJP, RP (Athawale), Apna Dal (S), Tamil Maanila Congress, AIADMK, BJD, Telugu Desam Party , YSR Congress, IMKMK and AJSU MNF.

60.82% (328 members) in the Lok Sabha and 42.86% (102 members) in the Rajya Sabha.

20 parties protesting: Congress, Trinamool Congress, DMK, Aam Aadmi Party, Shiv Sena (Uddhav faction), Samajwadi Party, RJD, CPI, JMM, Kerala Congress (Mani), VCK, RLD, NCP, JDU, CPI(M) , IUML, National Conference, RSP, AIMIM and MDMK.

The opposition parties have a representation of 26.38% (143 members in total) in the Lok Sabha and 38.23% (91 members) in the Rajya Sabha.

Click to comment

Most Popular

Exit mobile version