National Affairs

One Nation, One Election: Amit Shah, Adhir Ranjan Part Of The Panel

The central government issued a notification on Saturday (September 2) regarding the committee of One Nation, One Election. 

An eight-member committee has been formed under the chairmanship of former President Ramnath Kovind. 

The chairman of the committee is former President Ram Nath Kovind. The members of the committee are Home Minister Amit Shah, Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Choudhary, former CM Ghulam Nabi Azad, former Finance Commission Chairman NK Singh, former Lok Sabha General Secretary Subhash C Kashyap, Harish Salve and former CVC Sanjay Kothari. 

The tenure of the committee is not clear. The committee has been asked to submit its report as soon as possible.

The name of the committee will be called High Level Committee and in English it will be called HLC. 

Niten Chandra, Secretary, Laws and Justice Department, will be a part of it. Niten Chandra will also be the Secretary of HLC. 

Apart from this, Union Justice Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal will be present in the committee meeting. In fact, one nation, one election means simultaneous elections to the Lok Sabha and Vidhansabha. 

The committee will consider and recommend the possibility of holding elections to Lok Sabha, Legislative Assemblies, Municipal bodies and Panchayats simultaneously. 

It will also study whether the amendment of the constitution will require the approval of the states. 

The committee will start work immediately and give recommendations at the earliest. 

Apart from this, the committee will also analyze the impact of scenarios emerging from a hung house, no-confidence motion or defection in the event of simultaneous elections. 

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top