Parliament Budget Session: Opposition Boycotts President On Friday

Leaders of the central government and the Opposition parties engaged in a war of words on Friday after President Ram Nath Kovind’s address to Parliament, Budget Session which was boycotted by over 16 parties. A total of 16 political parties including Congress NCP, J-K National Conference, DMK, AITC, Shiv Sena, Samajwadi Party, RJD, CPI (M), CPI, IUML, RSP, PDP, MDMK, Kerala congress (M) and AIUDF in a joint statement announced a boycott of the President’s address in the Parliament to register their protest against the three farm laws.
Apart from these 16 parties, BSP, AAP and SAD had also boycotted the President’s address.
The government headed the budget session while the opposition parties’ protested outside the parliament in support of anti-farm law agitations. This is the first time in recent history that nearly the entire Opposition boycotts the President’s customary address to Parliament at the beginning of the first session every year. The Opposition parties have called the farm laws an assault on the rights of the states and violation of the federal spirit of the Constitution.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top