National Affairs

TMC, NCP & CPI Lose National Party Tag. AAP Now National Party

Posted on

The Election Commission has withdrawn the National Party status from Trinamool Congress, NCP and CPI. 

The vote share of these three parties has come down to less than 6 percent across the country. 

The Aam Aadmi Party (APP) has got the status of a national party. 

Now there are six national parties – BJP, Congress, BSP, CPI(M), NPP and AAP. 

Apart from this, the state level party status has been withdrawn from Rashtriya Lok Dal. This party of Jayant Chaudhary has influence in western Uttar Pradesh.

AAP got around 13% vote share in Gujarat
Election Commission has given the status of National Party to Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). For the National Party, AAP needed to get more than 6% vote share in Gujarat or Himachal.

 AAP got around 13% vote share in Gujarat. In such a situation, it has become a national party.

 For a party to get the status of a national party, it is necessary to get 6% of the votes in four states in the Lok Sabha or assembly elections. 

AAP has already secured more than 6% vote share in 3 states Delhi, Punjab and Goa.

Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) in Uttar Pradesh, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) in West Bengal, Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) in Andhra Pradesh, PDA in Manipur, PMK in Puducherry and MPC in Mizoram stripped of state party status snatched away

These are the new state parties
Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas) have been recognized as state parties in Nagaland, Tipra Motha Party in Tripura, Voice of the People Party in Meghalaya.

Know the rules of a national party
A party is given the tag of a national party on the basis of fulfilling at least one of the following three rules.

First: The party must have got 6 per cent votes in at least four states.

Second: Out of the total seats in the Lok Sabha, 2% of the seats should have been received from at least three states.

Third: The party should have got the status of a regional party in four states.

National parties can secure their symbol or election symbol throughout the country. National parties can keep a maximum of 40 star campaigners in the election campaign, as well as their travel expenses are not kept in the election expenses of the candidate. 

In the capital Delhi, national parties get a government bungalow on subsidized rent for the party president and party office.

During general elections, national parties get broadcast and telecast bands for broadcasting on All India Radio. That is, the time for showing national parties on government channels is fixed.

National parties need only one proposer to file nominations. Other parties need 2 proposers. Unrecognized parties and independents require 5 proposers. 

National parties are given two sets of electoral rolls free of cost. Also their candidates get a copy free of cost during general elections.

Now know what is a political party and how many types of parties are there in India.
A political party is a group of people who believe in the same ideology and political approach. Parties field their candidates in the elections, appeal to the public to make them win and then try to get the work done according to their ideology.

Political parties in India have to register with the Election Commission. In India anyone can contest elections and form their own political party. There are a total of 2,858 political parties in India. They have 3 categories…

Unrecognized Party: Parties that are registered with the Election Commission but are not recognized. Because either they are too new or they have not secured enough votes to be given the status of a regional party. There are about 2,796 such parties in India.

Regional Party: Those who have got the status of state level party from the Election Commission. There are 59 such parties in India.

National Party: Those who have been given the status of National Party by the Election Commission.

Click to comment

Most Popular

Exit mobile version