Tripura Post Live

Total 259 Candidates To Contest In The Upcoming Tripura Assembly Polls: CEO

“Total 259 candidates will contest in 60 seats in the upcoming Tripura Assembly Elections” confirmed Chief Electoral Officer of the state kiran Gitte.

Addressing a press conference on Thursday i.e last day for withdrawal of nomination Gitte said:

“310 nomination papers were submitted by various political parties in the state till January 30 for the upcoming thirteenth assembly elections. On January 31, 19 nomination papers were rejected due to various errors during scuttiness. Out of 291 nomination papers, 32 nomination papers were withdrawn by the nominated candidates till 3 pm on February 2. Currently, 259 candidates will contest 60 seats in the upcoming assembly elections”

“There were 297 nominated candidates in the last 2018 assembly elections. 38 candidates from 2018 assembly elections are going to contest less this time. But this year BJP has the most candidates. A total of 55 BJP candidates are going to fight. Then there are 43 candidates of CPIM. Thirdly, there are 42 candidates for Tipra Matha. National Trinamool Congress 28 candidates, CPI 1 candidate, Congress 13 candidates, IPFT 6 candidates, CPI(ML) 1 candidate, Forward Bloc 1 candidate, Tripura Peoples There are 2 party candidates, 1 TSP candidate, 1 RSP candidate, 1 other unrecognized party, 58 independent candidates”

He also said that the process of issuing postal ballot will start from next week. Postal ballots will be issued in 23 sub-divisions of the state from February 8 for those who are involved in emergency services i.e. those who are involved in various emergency professions including the police. 

That is, postal ballot voting process will start from that day. Also, the door-to-door polling process for those above 80 years of age will start from February 8. 

“At present paramilitary forces including police, TSR are present in the state for security. The state has strict security arrangements at international borders” Said CEO Tripura.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top