Tripura Post Live

Tripura By-Polls: Total 8 Candidates In The Fray In 2 Seats

In the by-elections to Boxnagar and Dhanpur assembly constituencies a direct fight is going to be held between the opposition CPI(M) and the ruling BJP.

This picture emerged after the withdrawal of nomination papers. Monday was the last day of withdrawal of nomination papers for the by-elections of the two constituencies.

But no candidate has withdrawn the nomination till the scheduled time of 3 pm.

The returning officers said four in 20 Boxanagar and 23 Dhanpur assembly constituencies, in total eight candidates will compete.

Apart from CPI (M) and BJP candidates, four independent candidates are in the fray in both seats, they said.

On September 5, the by-elections of 20 Boxanagar and 23 Dhanpur assembly constituencies of Sipahijla district going to be held.

A total of nine candidates filed their nominations in the two constituencies till the last day of filing nomination papers on August 17.

Meanwhile, the nomination of an independent candidate named Anisur Rahman in Dhanpur was canceled in the scrutiny on August 18.

As no candidate withdrew nominations on the last day of withdrawal of nomination papers on Monday, eight candidates remained in the fray in two constituencies, four each.

Jayant Dey, returning officer of Dhanpur constituency, said that CPI(M)’s Kaushik Chanda, BJP’s Bindu Debnath and two independent candidates Bapi Debnath and Anil Riang are contesting in 23 Dhanpur constituencies.

Total voters in Dhanpur are 50 thousand 346 . Among them 26 thousand 64 male voters and 24 thousand 282 female voters. The number of polling stations is 59.

Bhaskar Bhattacharya, Returning Officer of Boxanagar , said that Mizan Hossain of CPI (M), Tafazzal Hossain of BJP and 2 independent candidates Mohammad Salim and Ratan Hossain are contesting in the by-elections to be held on September 5 in 20 Boxanagar assembly seat.

The total number of voters of Boxanagar is 43 thousand 149 . Among them, the number of male voter is 22 thousand 209 and the number of female voter is 20 thousand 940. There is no third gender voter. The number of polling booth is 51.

Returning officers said that on the day of by-polls, the central paramilitary forces will be in charge of the security of each booth.

TSR and State Police will be responsible for maintaining law and order.

They said that central paramilitary forces will be deployed outside the polling stations as per the need.

The counting of by-polls for the two assembly constituencies will be held on September 8. The entire election process will be completed by September 10.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top