Tripura Post Live

Tripura Civic Polls 2021: Live Updates

Triangular contest between the ruling BJP and challenger TMC besides the CPI(M) which at one time ruled Tripura with an iron grip is expected to ensue for elections for the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and 13 other town civic bodies in Tripura on Thursday amid court cases, arrests and allegations of attacks by political parties.

The voting starts at 7 am on Thursday mornig. The ruling BJP, which has fielded candidates in all seats in Tripura civic elections, has already won 112 out of the total 334 seats uncontested in the Agartala Municipal Corporation (AMC) and 19 urban bodies. A total of 785 contestants are in the fray for the remaining 222 seats after 36 candidates withdrew their nominations.

Altogether, there are 334 seats in the urban local bodies, including Agartala Municipal Corporation (51 wards), 13 Municipal Councils, and six Nagar Panchayats across the state. Thirty-six candidates, including 15 candidates of the opposition CPI-M, four of Trinamool Congress (TMC), eight of Congress, two of the AIFB, and seven Independent candidates withdrew their nominations. Ambassa Municipal Council, Jirania Nagar Panchayat, Mohanpur Municipal Council, Ranirbazar Municipal Council, Bishalgarh Municipal Council, Udaipur Municipal Council and Santirbazar Municipal Council have no opposition candidates.

A total of 5, 94,772 voters are eligible to cast their votes in the civic poll and the number of women voters outnumbers male voters in urban areas. The state has been witnessing protests and violence in the run-up to the polls. CPM state secretary Jitendra Chaudhury alleged that their candidates were forced to withdraw their nominations “due to terror let loose by goons” owing allegiance to the BJP.

“Violence began much before the announcement of the schedule of the civic polls. Many of our party activists were attacked and our candidates in five municipal councils and two Nagar panchayats could not file their nominations.

An unprecedented terror was let loose by BJP-sheltered goons,” he told reporters. Earlier in the last week of October, TMC’s Sushmita Dev had written a letter to Tripura governor Satyadeo Narain Arya seeking his intervention in the law and order in the state, alleging that the situation is extremely critical. civic body elections are crucial for all parties and are being looked at as a precursor to the Assembly elections, which is scheduled for 2023.

Here The Latest Developments:

Agartala 7.30 AM

Voting starts at 7.30 am. AMC Ward no 27

Agartala 9.05 AM

Agartala Municipal Corporation Mayor candidate of BJP Dipak Majumdar casts vote. expresses 100% confidence about win

Agartala 10.05 AM

Trinamool Congress Polling Agents allegedly beaten severely at AMC Ward no 5.

Bilonia 10.35 AM

Poll rigging. CPIM workers gheraoed SDM Office in Bilonia

Agartala 11:22 AM

AMC Ward No-51 Candidate Tapan Biswas was allegedly beaten up by BJP workers inside booth after he went to Cast Vote.

Agartala 11:44 AM

As per supreme court order free fare peaceful election going on, said deputy CM Jishnu Debbarma

Agartala 12:05 PM

No role of Police, State Election Commission. Open vote rigging, attack on candidates going on. Said Trinamool Congress Convenor Subal Bhowmik

Agartala 12.30 PM

CPIM gheraoed East Agartala Police Station alleging massive poll rigging

Agartala 2.25 PM

Trinamool Congress Stages dharna before East Agartala Police Station protesting poll rigging

Agartala 4.45 PM

This election was only a farce. BJP have to pay for this in 2023 general election, said Tripura Pradesh Congress leader Gopal Roy

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top