Day Update

Tripura: No Exit Polls On By-Election Day From 7am-7pm; EC

The Election Commission of India barred the conduct of Exit Polls and publicity through electronic media, print media and in any other manner between 7am to 7pm on the day of by-polls at the Boxanagar and Dhanpur Assembly constituencies on September 5.

The Election Commission of India has issued this order under Section 126-A (Sub-section 1) of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

According to Section 126 (1) (b) of the Representation of the People Act 1951, no display of any election- related matter, opinion poll or any kind of election survey shall be broadcast by electronic means within 48 hours before the end of the polling period.

Secretary Election Commission of India, Additional Chief Electoral Officer UJ Muga said in a government press release.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top