Day Update

Tripura Polls: BJP Removed 7 Sitting MLAs From Candidates List

The campaign for the assembly elections is going on in full swing in Tripura. BJP also released the second list of candidates on Saturday. 

The second list has the names of 6 candidates. Among them, Binod Debbarma from Simna (ST), Tarit Debbarma from Mandaibazar (ST), Ram Prasad Paul from Suryamani Nagar, Bikash Debbarma from Krishnapur (ST), Ashim Tripura from Karbuk (ST), Braj Lal Tripura from Karamchara (ST) are named.  

Earlier in the afternoon, BJP released the first list, in which 48 candidates were announced. The candidate for one seat is yet to be announced.

Let us tell you that there is voting in the assembly elections in Tripura on 16 February. The BJP has finalized seat-sharing here with old ally IPFT. 

Five seats have been given to the junior partner in the alliance. 

In this regard, Chief Minister Manik Saha himself announced in the press conference. Chief Minister Saha said that BJP will contest on 55 seats.

CM Saha will contest from Town Bordwali. He had won this seat in the by-election held last year. 

Earlier in the day, the BJP in Delhi released the party’s first list of 48 candidates for the Tripura assembly elections, in which 11 women, including Union minister Pratima Bhowmik, have been fielded. 

Saha had said that the names of the remaining seven candidates would be announced later. There are only two days left for filing nominations.

The BJP fought the 2018 assembly elections in alliance with the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) and the alliance partners fielded candidates for 48 and 12 seats, respectively. 

The BJP alliance ousted the 25-year-old Left Front rule by winning 43 seats in the 60-member assembly. The BJP-IPFT alliance came to power in the state. BJP got 35 and IPFT eight seats.

Pratima Bhowmik had lost the 2018 election from Dhanpur seat to four-time chief minister Manik Sarkar. There is a large number of voters from the minority community here. 

A year later, she became a Lok Sabha MP and Minister of State for Social Justice and Social Empowerment. Bhowmik will again contest from Dhanpur. To give a chance to new people, tickets of four sitting MLAs have been cut.

Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb is a Rajya Sabha MP. His name was not included in the list. 

BJP state president Rajib Bhattacharjee will contest from Banamalipur. In May last year, the BJP made Manik Saha the chief minister in place of Deb. The former CM later became a member of the Rajya Sabha.

State president Rajib Bhattacharya said that the parliamentary board of the party has given tickets after analyzing the performance of ministers, MLAs and leaders. The state leadership of the party has no hand in this process. Among the seven. MLAs whose tickets have been cut, the names are Mimi Mazumdar, Biplab Ghosh, Arun Chandra Bhowmik, Parimal Debbarma, Dr Atul Debbarma, Birendra Debbarma, and Subhash Das.

 In this regard, Chief Minister Manik Saha said – this happens every time and it is not a big issue. 

The last date for filing nomination is January 30. The polling will be held on February 16 and the counting of votes will take place on March 2.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top