National Affairs

Unprecedented! 11 CMs Skips Meeting Of Niti Aayog Chaired By PM

Posted on

The 8th meeting of the NITI Aayog Governing Council chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has come to an end in Delhi on Saturday. It started at 12 noon which lasted till 4.30 pm.

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Telangana K Chandrasekhar Rao, Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Karnataka CM R Siddaramaiah and Delhi and Punjab Chief Ministers Arvind Kejriwal and Bhagwat Mann respectively will not attend the meeting.

Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will not be present in that meeting. She decided not to change her mind.

Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik also skips the meeting.

NITI Aayog CEO BVR Subrahmanyam said that the Chief Ministers of 11 states did not attend the meeting. This has been seen before as well. But we have written statements of many people. Taking all of them into consideration, the policy is made.

There is no precedent in the recent past for so many Chief Ministers not attending Niti Aayog meetings. Naturally, the question arises, why this decision of the Chief Ministers ruled by non BJP.

Nitish Kumar has not attended a single meeting in the last two-and-a-half years. In Bihar, he boycotted the Niti Aayog meeting called by Modi even when he was with the BJP.

This time also he wanted to send Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav and Finance Minister Vijay Kumar. But the center did not give green signal.

Bengal Finance Minister Chandrima Bhattacharya was not allowed to attend the meeting instead of Mamata Banerjee.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal has written to the Prime Minister and made it clear that it is unacceptable to take over the power of transfer-posting of officers of the Delhi state government through an ordinance by centre. His move to boycott the Niti Aayog meeting is against the Centre’s decision.

The Chief Ministers of Telangana, Tamil Nadu and Punjab, however, did not send any show-cause letters to the Prime Minister or his office.

However, it is worth noting that, except for Bihar, the conflict between the state governments and the governors has reached an extreme level.

Kejriwal government’s objections to Lt. Governor’s activities in Delhi.

In Punjab, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, the governors blocked the bill passed by the assembly due to the conflict. The situation did not change even after the intervention of the Prime Minister.

According to administrative circles, there is no precedent for so many Chief Ministers not attending Niti Aayog meetings in memory. While the immediate reasons behind this differ, according to informed sources, the non BJP-ruled states have serious objections to the agenda of Niti Aayog meetings and the manner of discussion.

One of the fundamental differences in many aspects of NITI Aayog compared to earlier Yojana Parishads is that the organization has become increasingly Prime Minister-centric.

Many senior chief ministers of the country feel that it is not worth spending a whole day and government money just to listen to the Prime Minister’s speech.

Not only the Prime Minister’s speech, but also the agenda of the meeting is prepared by Delhi. They are basically programs of Modi government. This time too like PM Gati Shakti, Developed India-2047, Centre’s plans to develop small and medium industries are on the agenda.

However, the main idea of ​​the previous Yojana Parishad or the present Niti Aayog is that the states should also be given an opportunity to present their views equally. Non BJP states alleged that the NITI Aayog withdrawals that process.

Many states are also angry over objections to the joining of state ministers as representatives of chief ministers.

According to them, it is merely a narrow administrative view. It is not an offense if ministers join instead of Chief Ministers.

Click to comment

Most Popular

Exit mobile version