Tripura Post Live

Vijay Diwas: Tripura Observes 50th Anniversary Of 1971 Indo-Pak War On Wednesday

Tripura observes the 50th anniversary of Vijay Diwas on Wednesday by paying tributes to Indian soldiers who made the supreme sacrifice during the 1971 India- Pakistan war, resulting in the creation of Bangladesh. Vijay Diwas is celebrated every year to mark the victory of the Indian Army over the Pakistan Army. The signing of the Instrument of Surrender by Pakistani forces’ Eastern Command Chief Lt Gen A.A.K. Niazi on December 16, 1971, in Dhaka brought the war for the liberation of Bangladesh to an end. The Border Security Force exchanged greetings with their counterparts in the Border Guards of Bangladesh. Bangladesh Assistant High Commission organised discussions, cultural programmes and a get-together. The day-long celebrations are taking place in the mission complex. According  to defence analysts, the 1971 war comprised two major operations — Operation Cactus Lily and Operation Nut Cracker — and 57 Mountain Division was actively involved in both operations with fire power support from 57 Mountain Artillery Brigade. Both operations progressed from Agartala westwards towards Dhaka. The war finally culminated on December 16, 1971 with the unconditional surrender of 93,000 Pakistani soldiers. Lt Gen Jagjit Singh Arora, Maj Gen (Retd) Ian Cardozo, Lt Arun Khetrapal, Lance Naik Albert Ekka are a few of our war heroes,” the analysts said. Agartala city played an important role as the bordering city was the launch pad for the main offensive into Bangladesh. Local residents of Tripura played a huge role by providing support to the Indian Army.” Tripura government has developed a gigantic memorial and park at the border village Chottakhola — 132 km south of Agartala — in memory of the Indian soldiers and Bangladeshi freedom fighters who sacrificed their lives during the 1971 Liberation War. India was the first country to recognise Bangladesh as a sovereign nation.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top