theTripurapost News Images

58 Seats, 889 Candidates: Sixth Phase of Lok Sabha Polls on Saturday

The time has come once again to participate enthusiastically in the ongoing grand festival of democracy in the country. 

Voting for the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in on Saturday. The countdown for voting on 58 Lok Sabha seats in eight states/union territories has begun. 

Voting will take place here on May 25, i.e. Saturday. All the seats of Delhi and Haryana are included in the sixth phase. 

Along with this, voting will also be held in this phase for Anantnag-Rajouri seat of Jammu and Kashmir. 

Voting for this seat was supposed to be held in the third phase, but due to bad weather it was postponed to the sixth phase.

The famous and big faces whose fate is at stake in the sixth phase of the seven-phase Lok Sabha election include former Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal (from Karnal parliamentary constituency), former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti (Anantnag-Rajouri), Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan (from Sambalpur in Odisha), Union Minister Rao Indrajit and actor Raj Babbar (Gurugram), Union Minister Krishan Pal Gurjar (Faridabad), former Union Minister Maneka Gandhi (Sultanpur), Manoj Tiwari and Kanhaiya Kumar (North East Delhi), Naveen Jindal (Kurukshetra), etc.

In this phase, voting will take place on 58 Lok Sabha seats. In 2019, BJP and NDA had won 40 of these seats. BJP had won all seven seats in Delhi and all 10 seats in Haryana. 

In this context, the sixth phase remains a matter of prestige for both the ruling party and the opposition. However, this time the situation has changed a bit in both the states.

This time in Delhi, Aam Aadmi Party and Congress are contesting the elections together. 

In 2019, both the parties contested the elections separately. In Haryana, before the Lok Sabha elections, BJP's ally Jannayak Janata Party has separated from them. The command of the state is now in the hands of Nayab Singh Saini instead of Manohar Lal.

It is noteworthy that in the five phases of Lok Sabha elections held so far, an average of 65.96 percent voting has taken place. 

Out of these, the lowest voting of 62.2 percent has taken place in the fifth phase, while the highest voting of 69.16 percent has taken place in the fourth phase. 

66.14 percent voting took place in the first phase, 66.71 percent in the second phase and 65.68 percent in the third phase. The voting for the last and seventh phase will take place on June 1.

A total of 889 candidates are in the fray in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections. Of these, the highest number of 223 candidates are from Haryana, while the lowest number of 20 candidates are in the fray from Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat of Jammu and Kashmir.

There are 162 candidates in the fray for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 86 candidates for eight seats in Bihar, 162 for seven seats in Delhi, 79 for eight seats in Bengal, 93 for four seats in Jharkhand and 64 for six seats in Odisha. 

However, a total of 1978 people had filed nominations for these 58 seats, out of which only 900 nominations were found to be valid. 

Later, after withdrawal of nominations from these too, now only 889 candidates are left in the fray.