theTripurapost News Images

93 LS Seats. 1300 Candidates in 3rd Phase Poll on Tuesday. Amit Shah, Dimple Yadav on Spotlight

Voting for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections will be held tomorrow on Tuesday May 7. 

Voting will take place on 93 Lok Sabha seats in the country. In the third phase, everyone's attention will be on Gandhi Nagar in Gujarat, Baramati seat in Maharashtra, Rajgarh seat in Madhya Pradesh and Mainpuri in UP. 

Because the election contest in Gandhinagar is between BJP candidate Amit Shah and Congress candidate Sonal Patel. 

Whereas in Baramati it will be between Sunetra Pawar and Supriya Sule. There is a direct contest between Digvijay Singh and Rodmal Nagar in Rajgarh seat, while in Mainpuri there is a direct contest between Dimple Yadav and Jaiveer Singh.

According to news agency PTI, more than 1300 candidates, including about 120 women, are in the fray in the third phase. Major leaders include Union Ministers Amit Shah (Gandhinagar), Jyotiraditya Scindia (Guna), Mansukh Mandaviya (Porbandar), Purushottam Rupala (Rajkot), Prahlad Joshi (Dharwad) and SP Singh Baghel (Agra). 

Former Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh Shivraj Singh Chauhan (Vidisha) and Digvijay Singh (Rajgarh) are also contesting the Lok Sabha elections this time. 

The fate of former Karnataka Chief Ministers Basavaraj Bommai (Haveri) and Badruddin Ajmal (Dhubri) will also be sealed in EVMs on May 7. In Uttar Pradesh, many family members of late Mulayam Singh Yadav are also contesting elections in this phase.

Let us tell you that with BJP winning unopposed in Surat, voting will be held on 25 seats of Prime Minister Modi's home state Gujarat on May 7. Apart from this, on 11 seats in Maharashtra, on 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh, on the remaining 14 seats out of 28 in Karnataka, on 7 seats in Chhattisgarh, on 9 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 5 in Bihar, 4 each in Assam and West Bengal. And voting will also take place on all 2 seats of Goa. 

Along with this, voting will also be held in the third phase on 2 seats of Union Territory Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Let us tell you that the elections to be held on Anantnag-Rajouri seat have now been postponed for the sixth phase.

Voting is to be held on 7 May in 4 Lok Sabha seats of West Bengal – Malda North, Malda South, Jangipur and Murshidabad. Officials said that out of 57 candidates contesting in the third phase, there are 14 candidates in Jangipur, 15 in Malda North, 17 in Malda South and 11 in Murshidabad. In Murshidabad, the main contest will be between senior CPI(M) leader Mohammad Salim, TMC's Abu Tahir Khan and BJP candidate Gauri Shankar Ghosh. In Malda North, Trinamool Congress (TMC) has fielded former IPS officer Prasun Banerjee, while Congress has given ticket to senior leader Mustaq Alam and BJP has fielded Khagen Murmu. In Malda South, BJP has fielded Srirupa Mitra Choudhary, Congress has fielded Isha Khan Choudhary and TMC has fielded Shahnawaz Ali Rehan. In Jangipur, TMC's Khalilur Rehman is contesting against BJP's Dhananjay Ghosh and Congress's Khalilur Rehman. 

Talking about UP, the campaigning for the elections to be held on May 7 came to a halt on Sunday. In the third phase, voting will be held in Sambhal, Hathras, Agra, Fatehpur Sikri, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Badaun, Amla and Bareilly. In this phase, 1.88 crore voters will decide the fate of 100 candidates. Which includes more than 1 crore male voters and more than 87 lakh female voters. In this election, the fate of many family members of Union Minister SP Singh Baghel, UP Tourism Minister Jaiveer Singh, Minister of State for Revenue Anup Pradhan Balmiki and Mulayam Singh Yadav will be decided.

Dimple Yadav is contesting the elections from Mainpuri seat. At the same time, Akshay Yadav, son of SP's National Principal General Secretary Ram Gopal Yadav, is sweating to re-win the Firozabad seat, which he had won in 2014. On the other hand, Aditya Yadav, who is contesting from Badaun Lok Sabha seat, will try to win the SP stronghold. Which was represented by his cousin Dharmendra Yadav in 2014. Rajveer Singh, son of former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and veteran BJP leader Kalyan Singh, is hoping to score a hat-trick from Etah seat. 

The political future of Shivraj Singh Chauhan, Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia and Digvijay Singh will be decided in this election to be held in Madhya Pradesh. Voting will take place here in Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh and Betul seats. For the third phase, voting will be held at 20,456 polling stations from 7 am to 6 pm. 

Jyotiraditya Scindia is contesting from Guna, Shivraj Singh Chauhan from Vidisha. Whereas veteran Congress leader and former Chief Minister Digvijay Singh is contesting elections from Rajgarh. He has made a comeback in the Lok Sabha elections after more than 30 years, his opponent is 2-time BJP MP Rodmal Nagar. BJP is hoping for a clean sweep in Madhya Pradesh. 

Out of the total 29 seats in Madhya Pradesh, voting has been completed in two phases on 19th and 26th April for 12 seats. Whereas voting on the remaining eight seats will be held in the fourth phase on May 13.

Elections for 11 out of 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra will be held on May 7. Baramati seat is also included in this. Where Sharad Pawar's daughter Supriya Sule is contesting against Sunetra Pawar, wife of Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar. 

In the third phase, voting will be held in Baramati, Raigarh, Osmanabad, Latur, Solapur, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur and Hatkanangle.