theTripurapost News Images

Biplab Deb Vs Asish Saha: Tripura All Set To Vote In First Phase On Friday

Tripura is all set for the vote of the very first phase of the Lok Sabha election 2024 which is scheduled on Friday.

On this day voters of the West Tripura Lok Sabha Constituency to exercise their voting right.

Tripura West Lok Sabha constituency is one of the two Lok Sabha constituencies in the state of Tripura. This also includes the state capital Agartala. 

Tripura, India's third smallest state in terms of area, shares its borders with Assam, Mizoram and Bangladesh. Its capital is Agartala. The people here speak Tripuri language (Kokborok) and Bengali. 

In the 14th century, an Indo-Mongolian tribal chief belonged from Manikya dynasty founded the state of Tripura. They adopted Hindu religion. After this, Tripura was included in India in the year 1956. After this, Tripura was also given the status of a new state in 1972.

The influence of BJP has increased significantly in this Lok Sabha parliamentary constituency. 

Till now 15 elections and once by-election have been held on Tripura West Lok Sabha seat. Of these, Communist Party of India (Marxist) i.e. CPIM has won nine times. CPIM had also won the by-election held in 2002. 

If we look at the earlier election results, it becomes clear that the voters of this seat vote in the name of the party. BJP never won this seat. Till now, apart from CPIM, only CPI, Congress and BLD have won this seat.

According to Election Commission there are a total of 30 assembly seats in this parliamentary constituency. 

There were 16 candidates in the fray in the last 2019 election season. Congress had given ticket to Subal Bhowmik, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to Pratima Bhowmik, CPI had given ticket to its outgoing MP Shankar Prasad Dutta. Maman Khan was in the fray from Mamata Banerjee's party TMC. 7 independent candidates were also in the fray.

BJP candidate Pratima Bhowmik won this seat by 5,73,532 votes. While Congress candidate Subal Bhowmik got 2,67,843 votes and CPI (M) candidate Shankar Prasad Dutt got 1,71,826 votes.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CPM's Shankar Prasad Dutta had won from Tripura West seat. He defeated his rival and Congress candidate Arunoday Saha by 5 lakh 3 thousand 486 votes. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Shankar Prasad Dutta got 6 lakh 71 thousand 665 votes, while Congress candidate Sachitra Debbarman got 1 lakh 68 thousand 179 votes. The total number of voters on this seat is 12 lakh 48 thousand 550. 

This time in 2024 Lok Sabha Election the actual fight to be held between ruling BJP and Opposition India bloc candidate where former Chief Minister of the state Biplab Kr Deb is contesting from BJP side  and Tripura Congress President Asish Kr Saha is fighting from India bloc camp supported by CPIM..

According to the latest information provided by the State Election Department, the total number of voters in the West Tripura Lok Sabha election is 14 lakh 62 thousand 875. Among them, 7 lakh 33 thousand 842 men, 7 lakh 28 thousand 977 women and 56 third gender voters. 

Notably by-election in Ramnagar Assembly Constituency also going to be held on Friday. There are 45 thousand 669 total voters in seven Ramnagar assembly constituency . Among them 22 thousand 40 male and 23 thousand 629 female voters. Female voters are slightly more than male voters in Ramnagar.

The total number of polling stations in West Tripura Lok Sabha election is 1685. Out of this, 547 are in urban areas and 1138 are in rural areas.