theTripurapost News Images

Campaign Ends For 102 Lok Sabha Seats. First Phase of Voting on April 19

The campaign for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections has come to an end on the evening of Wednesday i.e. 17th April. 

The first phase of voting will take place on April 19. A total of 1626 candidates are contesting on 102 Lok Sabha seats in 21 states of the country. 

In the first phase, the fate of eight Union Ministers, two former Chief Ministers and one former Governor is at stake.

On April 19 voting to be held in eight seats from Uttar Pradesh, 13 from Rajasthan, six from Madhya Pradesh, five from Assam, four from Bihar, five from Maharashtra, one each from Jammu and Kashmir and Chhattisgarh, two each from Meghalaya and Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura Voting will be held in one, six in Uttarakhand, 39 in Tamil Nadu, three in West Bengal, Sikkim, Nagaland, Andaman and Nicobar, Mizoram, Puducherry, Manipur and Lakshadweep.

Union Road Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari is contesting from Nagpur seat of Maharashtra. Union Minister Kiren Rijiju is trying his luck from Arunachal West seat. Union Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has entered the election race from Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat of Assam.

Union Minister Sanjeev Baliyan is in the fray from Muzaffarnagar, a high profile seat in Uttar Pradesh. Here he is facing competition from Samajwadi Party's Harendra Malik and BSP candidate Dara Singh Prajapati. Union Minister Jitendra Singh, contesting from Udhampur seat of Jammu and Kashmir, is facing Congress candidate Lal Singh.

Union Minister Bhupendra Yadav is trying his luck from Alwar seat of Rajasthan. He faces a challenge from Congress MLA Lalit Yadav. 

In Bikaner, Union Law Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal is contesting against former Congress minister Govind Ram Meghwal. Union Minister L Murugan is contesting from the Nilgiri Lok Sabha seat in Tamil Nadu against former Union Minister A Raja.

Former Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan is contesting from Chennai South Lok Sabha constituency. 

Former Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb is contesting from West Tripura. In front of him is State Congress President Ashish Kumar Saha.