theTripurapost News Images

Election Campaign For The 5th Phase of Lok Sabha Polls Ends

The election campaign for the 5th phase of Lok Sabha elections has ended on Saturday evening. 

In this phase, voting is to be held on May 20 for 49 seats in 8 states and union territories. 695 candidates are in the electoral fray in this phase. 

In the fifth phase, five ministers of Modi government will have to save their credibility. The public will decide their fate on May 20. 

In this phase, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Smriti Irani, Kaushal Kishore, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, Bhanu Pratap Verma and Yogi government minister Dinesh Singh are pitting against Congress leader Rahul Gandhi from Rae Bareli in the Modi government. 

In the fifth phase, elections will be held on 14 seats in UP. In the 2019 elections, BJP had won all the seats except Rae Bareli. Sonia Gandhi had won from Rae Bareli. 

Rajnath Singh is contesting from Lucknow for the third time. Ravidas Mehrotra from SP-Congress alliance and Sarwar Ali from BSP are contesting against him. Union Minister Smriti Irani is contesting elections once again from Amethi Lok Sabha. 

In 2019, he defeated senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi. Kishorilal Sharma, a member of the Gandhi family, is attacking him. Sharma claims that he has been associated with the people of Amethi for 40 years. 

He also participated in rallies with Rajiv Gandhi. Big leaders of Congress have full focus on this seat.

The election campaign for 14 seats in the fifth phase of general elections in Uttar Pradesh and one seat in the assembly by-election ended at 6 pm on Saturday. 

Voting on these seats will be held on May 20. Chief Electoral Officer of Uttar Pradesh Navdeep Rinwa said that voting is to be held on Monday, May 20 for 14 Lok Sabha constituencies of the fifth phase and Lucknow East Assembly by-election. The 14 Lok Sabha constituencies of this phase include Mohanlalganj (reserved), Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Amethi, Jalaun (reserved), Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Fatehpur, Kaushambi (reserved), Barabanki (reserved), Faizabad, Kaiserganj, Gonda Lok Sabha seats. 

Out of these, 10 seats are of general category and four seats are reserved for Scheduled Caste. 

The election campaign for all these seats stopped at 6 pm on Saturday evening.

In the fifth phase, the country's Defense Minister Rajnath-Lucknow, former Congress President Rahul Gandhi-Rae Bareli, Union Minister Smriti Irani-Amethi, Union Minister Kaushal Kishore-Mohanlalganj, Union Minister Bhanu Pratap Singh Verma-Jalaun, Union Minister Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti and MP Lallu Singh is in the election contest from Faizabad Lok Sabha seat. 

During the election campaign in the fifth phase, many senior leaders of the ruling party including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President JP Nadda, Home Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath fiercely attacked the opposition parties.

At the same time, prominent leaders of the opposition  India Alliance, including Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, former Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, attacked the BJP fiercely. 

At the same time, Samajwadi Party (SP) President Akhilesh Yadav, a key component of the India alliance, held joint meetings with Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi in Rae Bareli and Amethi. Bahujan Samaj Party President Mayawati, who is trying her luck in the election field alone, strongly criticized the ruling BJP as well as SP and Congress.

The election campaign came to a halt on Saturday evening due to the voting in five parliamentary constituencies in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections in Bihar. 

In this phase, voting will be held in Sitamarhi, Madhubani, Muzaffarpur, Saran and Hajipur Lok Sabha constituencies on Monday. 

A total of 95.11 lakh voters will decide the political future of 80 candidates. In this phase, the maximum number of 26 candidates are in the fray in Muzaffarpur Lok Sabha constituency, while the least number of 12 candidates are in the fray in Madhubani parliamentary constituency. 

14 candidates each from Sitamarhi, Saran and Hajipur are also contesting the elections. 

9436 polling stations have been created for voters to exercise their franchise. In this phase, there are 15 candidates from national and state level parties, while 35 independents are contesting. 

In this phase, three candidates of BJP, one of LJP and one of JDU are in the fray from NDA side, while from the Grand Alliance side, there are four candidates of RJD and one candidate of Congress. BSP is contesting elections on all these seats. 

The main contest on all these seats is being considered between NDA and Grand Alliance candidates.

Voting will be held on 13 seats in the fifth phase of Lok Sabha elections in Maharashtra. The election campaign for this ended at five in the evening. In the fifth and final phase in Maharashtra, voting will also be held for 10 seats of Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR). Of these 13 seats in Maharashtra, there are BJP candidates on seven seats, while on six seats the prestige of Shiv Sena led by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde is at stake. 

Similarly, in Mahavikas Aghadi (MVA), Congress is in the fray on three seats, NCC (Sharadchandra Pawar) on two seats and Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena is in the fray on the remaining nine seats. Broadly speaking, the reputation of both camps of Shiv Sena is at stake in these 13 seats of Maharashtra.