theTripurapost News Images

IPL 2024: KKR Confirmed For Playoff

60 matches of the league stage in the Indian Premier League (IPL 2024) have ended. On Saturday, Kolkata Knight Riders defeated Mumbai Indians by 18 runs. 

With this result, KKR qualified for the playoffs, while MI, who is already eliminated, dropped to 9th position with their 9th defeat.

Due to rain at Eden Garden Stadium in Kolkata, the match was played in 16-16 overs format. KKR scored 157 runs at the loss of 7 wickets. Mumbai could score only 139 runs after losing 8 wickets.

KKR, already on top, has 18 points with 9 wins and 3 losses in 12 matches. With this the team became the first team to qualify for the playoffs.

MI, who was out of the playoffs, suffered their 9th defeat in 13 matches. The team remains at 9th position with 8 points from just 4 wins.

2 matches will be played toaday ie on Sunday in the 17th season. The first match will be played between CSK and RR in Chennai from 3:30 pm. 

Rajasthan has 16 points from 11 matches with 8 wins and 3 losses. The team needs just one win to secure a place in the playoffs. Even if they lose, the team will remain at second position.

Chennai has 12 points from 6 wins and 6 losses in 12 matches. The team is at number four, today CSK can reach number three by defeating Rajasthan. If the team loses, it will become very difficult for the team to reach the playoffs. 

Because then CSK will have only one match left, despite winning it, the team will have to depend on the remaining results.

Sunday's second match will be played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals in Bengaluru from 7:30 pm. RCB has 10 points from 12 matches with 5 wins and 7 losses. The team is currently at number 7, by defeating Delhi the team can reach fifth place with 12 points. But if the match is lost, the team will be out of the race for the playoffs.

Delhi Capitals have 12 points from 6 wins and 6 losses in 12 matches. The team is at fifth position and after defeating Bengaluru, it will reach fourth position with 14 points. 

If they lose, the team will remain at number 5 but then they will have to rely on other teams to qualify for the playoffs.

MI's Jasprit Bumrah took 2 wickets against Kolkata, with this he became the top wicket taker of the tournament. He has 20 wickets in his name in 13 matches. 

Bumrah left behind Punjab's Harshal Patel, Harshal also has only 20 wickets but due to higher economy, he is at second position.

There was no change in the top run scorers of the tournament after Saturday's match. RCB's Virat Kohli is at number one with 634 runs.

On Sunday he can become the first player to score 700 runs in the tournament by scoring 66 runs.

KKR's Sunil Narine , who is at second position among six hitters, could not even open his account against Mumbai, hence he is at second position among the top six hitters. He has 32 sixes in his name in 12 matches. 

SRH's Abhishek Sharma is at number one with 35 sixes.

SRH's Travis Head has hit the most number of fours in the tournament. He has 61 fours in 11 matches. KKR's Phil Salt is at fourth position with 50 fours in 12 matches.