theTripurapost News Images

Lok Sabha Polls: Fourth phase of Voting on Monday

Voting for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections will be held on Monday, May 13. In this phase, voting will be held in 96 Lok Sabha constituencies across 10 states and union territories. 

These include 25 seats in Andhra Pradesh, 5 in Bihar, 4 in Jharkhand, 8 in Madhya Pradesh, 11 in Maharashtra, 4 in Odisha, 17 in Telangana, 13 in Uttar Pradesh, 8 in West Bengal, 1 in Jammu and Kashmir. Voting will start at 7 am and continue till 6 pm.

A total of 1717 candidates are in the fray in the fourth phase. The fate of many important leaders is to be decided in this phase. 

These include SP leader Akhilesh Yadav from UP's Kannauj, BJP leader and Union Minister Giriraj Singh from Bihar's Begusarai, BJP leader and Union Minister of State for Home Nityanand Rai from Ujiarpur, JDU's Lalan Singh from Munger, Congress's Adhir Ranjan from Baharampur, West Bengal. Chaudhary, AIMIM leader Asaduddin Owaisi from Hyderabad, Telangana and TMC's Shatrughan Sinha from Asansol, West Bengal are special.

Apart from these, Yusuf Pathan of TMC from Baharampur in West Bengal, Mahua Moitra of TMC from Krishnanagar, Dilip Ghosh of BJP from Bardhaman-Durgapur and Kirti Azad of TMC, Pankaja Munda of BJP from Beed in Maharashtra, BJP leader Bandi Sanjay from Karimnagar in Telangana. 

The fate, BJP leader and former Union Minister G Kishan Reddy from Secunderabad, BJP's Madhavi Lata from Hyderabad and Geeta Koda from Singhbhum in Jharkhand, former Union Minister Arjun Munda from Khunti and Union Minister Ajay Kumar Mishra from Kheri in UP will also be decided. The public will do it in this phase.

In the fourth phase of elections, voting will be held on all 25 Lok Sabha seats as well as 175 assembly seats of Andhra Pradesh. Preparations for this have been completed. 

NDA has alliance with TDP and Janasena here. Under the division, TDP has fielded its candidates on 144 assembly seats, while BJP is contesting on 10 assembly seats and Janasena on 21 assembly seats.

The Election Commission has made strict security arrangements to conduct peaceful elections. Many companies of Central Security Force have been deployed everywhere. Apart from this, local police and PAC have also been deployed.