theTripurapost News Images

LS Election: PM Modi Files Nomination From Varanasi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday filed his nomination for the third time for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections from Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh.

After offering prayers at Dashashwamedh Ghat and Kaal Bhairav ​​Temple on the banks of river Ganga he submitted his nomination paper. 

Pandit Ganeshwar Shastri, Baijnath Patel, Lalchand Kushwaha and Sanjay Sonkar, who played an important role in the consecration ceremony of Ram temple, were his proponents

UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was also with the Prime Minister while filing nomination papers.

Sitting MP and BJP candidate PM Modi filed his nomination papers at the District Magistrate Office. Voting will be held in Varanasi on June 1 in the seventh and last phase of Lok Sabha elections. Counting of votes will take place on June 4.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister welcomed the PM outside the Kalbhairav ​​Temple. Outside the temple, people showered flowers and raised slogans of 'Modi, Modi' and 'Har Har Mahadev' and gave a warm welcome to the Prime Minister. 

Before filing his nomination he performed puja at Dashashwamedh Ghat on the banks of Ganga in the city and boarded a cruise to Namo Ghat. He offered prayers at the Kaal Bhairav ​​temple in Varanasi and was seen performing aarti in the temple.

A total of 25 NDA leaders including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP National President JP Nadda, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh and Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri participated in the Prime Minister's nomination. Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde and Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma were also present.

NDA leaders include TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) national president Chirag Paswan, Nationalist Congress Party (Ajit Pawar faction) leader Praful Patel, Suheldev President Bharatiya Samaj Party Om Prakash Rajbhar, Jan Sena Party President Pawan Kalyan. , Hindustani Awam Morcha chief Jitan Ram Manjhi, Rashtriya Lok Morcha president Upendra Kushwaha, Uttar Pradesh minister and Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad, Anupriya Patel, Pashupati Kumar Paras, Bhupendra Choudhary, RLD chief Jayant Choudhary, Tamil Nadu Congress president. GK Vasan, Pattali Makkal Katchi (PMK) President Dr. Anbumani Ramadoss were present at the DM office of Varanasi.

PM Modi had won both the 2014 and 2019 general elections with a thumping majority. This time he is facing Congress candidate Ajay Rai, who is the candidate of the opposition alliance India against the Prime Minister. UP Congress chief Rai was also fielded by the Congress against the PM in Varanasi in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, but he finished third both times. This is the third time that Ajay Rai will face Modi in the Lok Sabha elections.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, PM Modi won the seat with more than 6,74,664 votes and secured 63.6 percent vote share. Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 saw a contest between BJP's then prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and AAP chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. At this time PM Modi had won the elections by more than 3 lakh votes.