theTripurapost News Images

LS Polls: 62.9% Voting Till 8 PM in Phase Four. PM Modi To Submit Nomination From Varanasi on Monday

Voting for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections ended after 6 pm on Monday. 

In the fourth phase of voting, votes were cast on a total of 96 Lok Sabha seats from 10 states including Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Telangana. 

So far, voting has taken place in 379 parliamentary constituencies in four phases of General Elections 2024.

Counting of votes is to take place on June 4. The Election Commission has currently released the voting data till 5 pm. Till 5 pm, 62.31 percent voting took place.

According to the latest official data till 8 pm voter turn out was 62.9%.

According to the data released by the Election Commission, till 5 pm, maximum 75.66 percent voters cast their votes in West Bengal. On Monday itself, voting was also held for all 175 seats of Andhra Pradesh State Assembly and 28 seats of Odisha State Assembly. 

Among the major candidates in the fray in the fourth phase of elections, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav was contesting from Kannauj Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh.

Central government minister Giriraj Singh from Begusarai in Bihar, Nityanand Rai from Ujiarpur, senior Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Choudhary from Baharampur seat in West Bengal, Pankaja Munde from Beed in Maharashtra, Asaduddin Owaisi of AIMIM from Hyderabad and state president of Congress in Andhra Pradesh. YS Sharmila was  candidate from Kadapa Lok Sabha seat.

Mahua Moitra of Trinamool Congress was in the fray from Krishnanagar in West Bengal. In this fourth phase of voting, elections were held on 25 Lok Sabha seats of Andhra Pradesh. 

5 seats of Bihar, 1 of Jammu and Kashmir, 4 of Jharkhand and 8 seats of Madhya Pradesh were also included in the fourth phase of voting. 

At the same time, voting was also held on 11 Lok Sabha seats of Maharashtra, 4 of Odisha, 17 of Telangana, 13 of Uttar Pradesh and 8 of West Bengal. There were more than 17.7 crore voters at 1.92 lakh polling stations in the fourth phase. Of these, 8.97 crore were male and 8.73 crore were female voters.

Meanwhile Prime Minister Narendra Modi began a six-kilometre-long roadshow in Varanasi. He is set to file his nomination papers from this Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday May 14.