theTripurapost News Images

PM Modi To File Nomination For LS Poll From Varanasi on May 14

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will file nomination from Varanasi Lok Sabha seat on May 14. Before this, on May 13, PM Modi will hold a road show in Varanasi. 

Let us tell you that voting for Varanasi Lok Sabha seat will be held on June 1, 2024. PM Modi will contest elections from Varanasi seat. 

BJP has started preparations for PM Modi's road show and nomination. 

PM Narendra Modi contested the Lok Sabha elections from Varanasi for the first time in 2014. Earlier in the elections held in 2009, Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi was the MP from here.

Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency consists of five assembly constituencies - Rohaniya, Varanasi North, Varanasi South, Varanasi Cantt, Sewapuri.   

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, PM Modi had won a grand victory from Varanasi seat. He got 674664 votes, while SP's Shalini Yadav stood second with 1,95,159 votes and Congress's Ajay Rai stood third with 1,52,548 votes. 

According to 2011 census data, the population of Varanasi was about 37 lakhs. 

75.60 percent population of Varanasi is literate. Among these, the literacy rate of men is 83.78 percent and the literacy rate of women is 66.69 percent.