theTripurapost News Images

Terror Threat to T20 World Cup: ICC Reacts

There has been a threat of terrorist attack on the T20 World Cup 2024 to be held in America and West Indies. 

This threat has been received from East Pakistan. Cricket West Indies has received this terrorist threat regarding the upcoming event. 

There is one month left for the T20 World Cup, but the news of the terrorist attack has shocked the entire cricket world.

The global cricket event in the US and West Indies has received threats from North Pakistan, due to which the cricket body took immediate action and imposed strict security measures. 

T20 World Cup will be played between West Indies and America from June 2 to 29.

Jonny Graves, CEO of Cricket West Indies,  told Cricbuzz on Sunday  : "We work closely with the authorities of the host countries and cities and are constantly monitoring and evaluating the global landscape to ensure that there are no restrictions on our event. Appropriate plans can also be made to reduce the risk."

However ICC mentioned, "We work closely with authorities in the host countries and cities, and continually monitor and evaluate the global landscape to ensure appropriate plans are in place to mitigate any risks identified to our event."

Pro-Islamic State (IS) has launched campaigns inciting violence against sporting events, according to reports, including video messages from the Afghanistan-Pakistan branch of IS-Khorasan (IS-K), which highlighted attacks in several countries And supporters have been urged to join the battlefield.

It is noteworthy that all the teams have announced squads for the T-20 World Cup. The biggest match of cricket will be played in June. Fans are now eagerly waiting for the month of June. 

Group of T20 World Cup 2024:

Group A- India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada, USA 
Group B- England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland, Oman 
Group C- New Zealand, West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda, Papua New Guinea 
Group D- South Africa , Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Nepal

This time the hosts of ICC T20 World Cup 2024 are West Indies and USA. Where T-20 World Cup matches will be played. This time 20 teams are participating in the T-20 World Cup. T-20 World Cup will be played from June 1 to June 20. All 20 teams have been divided into 4 groups of 5 each.

After this, 8 teams have to play matches in the Super 8 round. In Super 8 also, teams will be placed in two groups of 4-4. In Super 8, the top 2 teams of both the groups will reach the semi-finals. Two semi-final matches will be played. After this, the teams winning the semi-final match will play the final match among themselves.